Night prayer.

image

I found you again, in the space between bedtime and sleep. Nestled between my legs, the baby that you were and the mother I became.

Oh but stay small, little one!

Shadows of the years play out in memory across the walls. The shape of toys past, nothing now but a trick of the light. The morse code of a dog, barking warning into the night that we too will grow old, and time will not wait.

In this stillness, I find myself, again.

But I am different now. No longer new, the years change us mothers too. Where once I rocked you to sleep, now you read to me while I wonder what the future will bring. A time when you don’t need me so? A time to come when I long for this quiet, calm pause; where I see myself clearly, laid bare wrapped up in you. There’s a last time for everything, slipping by unheeded. But surely not yet, for I am not ready.

And the silent stars go by.

 


 

Like my facebook page, follow me on twitter, look at my photos, pin me on pinterest. 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. babbitman says:

    Very nice. Just got eldest back from uni for Easter, but she’s still my little fluff.

    Like

    1. Lindsay says:

      Thanks, university seems a long way off but I know it will come too quickly

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tamz says:

    Stop! Stop growing up so fast. Love, love this

    Like

  3. This brought a tear to my eyes. Beautiful words.

    Like

    1. Lindsay says:

      Thank you. I think everyone has moments like these at some point.

      Like

  4. Alan dad says:

    My baby girls are coming 17 & 15 – I love it and hate it. Time is way too quick.

    Like

    1. Lindsay says:

      Yes. Having children just broke the normal passing of time for me. It goes way too quick!

      Like

Leave a Reply

