World’s Greatest: Fancy Dress.

FBG6_L

“YESS – I WANT TO BE A BENDER! I WANT TO BE A PINK… SPARKLY… BENDER!!!”

So yelled my son, standing in the middle of the discount section of Hobbycraft this week at the top of his oddly high pitched voice. We’re off to Camp Bestival tomorrow, and have reached the final stage of creating idiotic Futurama themed fancy dress outfits for the Space theme this year. Got to be honest, I think we actually might have peaked with this year’s efforts:

image
Bender the space robot. Kiss his shiny metal ass.
image
Leela.

I am also going as Leela, although a much older and fatter version than my beautiful six year old. Husband will be, and I quote directly from wikipedia, “pompous, idiotic captain” Zapp Brannigan, so make of that what you will. Pics to follow once he’s had enough festival ale to grant permission…

Proper packing has been abandoned in favour of simply stuffing things in Ikea bags and pouring glitter over them, this year’s child-trolley actually features a real solar panel, reverse gear and a fully functioning fridge because who needs a proper job anyway, and we have enough crisps to feed everyone at the entire festival, so I think we’re all set. All that remains is to spend four hundred hours in our car driving to the far south coast and hope that the children can learn all the words to Bananarama’s greatest hits in that time ready for their set on Sunday. (Bananarama’s. Not the children’s.) Will also need to break it gently to the four year old that he probably isn’t going to actually ‘meet’ Jess Glynne or go to the actual moon at some point along the way too, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it, or, more likely, when I lose my shit sometime around the traffic jam south of Poole.

13680269_10154125357935129_6145495358646601896_o
Rocket power: The Planet Express. Hugely over-engineered.

If you’re going along to Camp Bestival too, say hi if you see us – we’ll be the ones looking like mega space-dicks! Tweet me @andotheridiots – CAN’T WAIT!


Want to see more? Check out last year’s Camp Bestival review, or join my facebook page for notifications of new posts

4 Comments Add yours

  1. babbitman says:

    Those costumes (and that crazy cart thing) are utterly awesome. I bow low to your most excellent fancy dress skills. 🙂

    Like

    1. Lindsay says:

      Ha ha thanks! I bloody love dressing me and everyone I know like a dickhead

      Liked by 1 person

      1. babbitman says:

        [tempted to turn up at your house to see how long it takes for you to turn me into Zoidberg]

        Like

      2. Lindsay says:

        Pink rubber glove to the face – boom.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

